Townshend Village Hall Charter & Committees

The Hall is now owned and run by the Trustees of Townshend Village Hall Association who acquired it in 1997.

In 1999 its Trust Deed was registered by the Charity Commission as No. 1077077 and the Management and Social Committees formed.

This deed states ... "the property hereby demised together with such other property as may be acquired by the Trustees shall be held upon trust for the purposes of a village hall for use by the inhabitants of the village of Townshend and surrounding areas in the County of Cornwall (the area of benefit) without distinction of political, religious or other lawful opinions including use for meetings lectures and classes and for other forms of recreation and leisure time occupation with the object of improving the conditions of life for the said inhabitants".

At the July 2011 AGM, 10 Trustees were appointed to serve until the next AGM. They include representatives from Crowan Parish Council and Townshend Music and Arts and form the general management committee.

Details of the Trustees and the Charity can be found on the Charity Commission’s website tel: 0845 3000 218

Working with the Trustees is an active Social Committee that organizes the many and varied fund raising events and a separate Committee that runs the Annual Village Show. Both these Committees would welcome additional volunteers. Just approach any Trustee!

[Please Click the Image to see a larger size]

Front row LtoR: Les Hudson: Social Committee chair, Sarah Chapman: Show Secretary and Bookings, Rosemary Saunders: Hon Secretary

Middle row LtoR: Barrie Smith, Tim Cogher: Carpet Bowls Secretary, Bob Love: Social Committee

Back row LtoR: Diane Brown: Hon Treasurer, Chris Trevan: Chair, Roger Palfrey: Social Committee

Absent at time of photo Loveday Jenkin: Parish Council representative.